Hello World!

It’s been a while since I’ve done anything but write and live. Isn’t that what life is about?

Fall is our favorite time of year in the Russell family. We camp, usually a lot. We enjoy crisp, early morning walks as the world wakes up. We cook stews all day long on the fire in giant cast iron pots. We spend breezy afternoons snuggled up in hammocks with dogs and blankets napping. Really, what could be better?
Not much.

This year though- we haven’t camped one single time in October. Only twice in September. My lovely daughter is working at the local haunted house. She’s taken every weekend at the end of September and every weekend of October, and volunteered her time at a haunted house. She’s really good at it and I know she loves interacting with the visitors, but I’m so ready for a night in the woods with my family I could quite literally scream. Loud. repeatedly.

In the part of Indiana I live in, my camping weather is almost to an end this year. It snowed today. Not accumulation, but flurries.

I am determined to get back into the woods before we make snowmen in the yard!
I wonder if I’m the only one crazy enough to love late Fall camping.

Leave a Reply

